SR-22 Insurance

Just Auto Insurance Offers the Lowest SR-22 Rates in California

Do You Need SR-22 Insurance?

California drivers with traffic violations, reckless driving charges, uninsured accidents, or DWI convictions often have their driver’s licenses revoked as punishment. When this happens, you must prove to the state of California that you carry the minimum auto insurance coverage required by law to have your driving privileges reinstated. Just Auto Insurance wants to help California drivers get back on the road legally at the lowest cost. Keep reading to learn more, and contact us to get a quote for an SR-22 policy today.

What is an SR-22?

An SR-22 is a form that your insurance company files with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). The SR-22 certificate is not insurance. The certificate is a guarantee from your insurer that informs the state that you purchased enough liability auto insurance to satisfy the state’s legal requirements. Some insurance companies don’t offer SR-22 service, meaning they will not file the certificate on your behalf. If that happens, contact our team at Just Auto Insurance to get the help you need right away.

How Much Will It Cost?

Insurance carriers charge an average fee of $25-$50 to file the SR-22 form for you, but the DMV may also issue fees to reinstate your license. An auto insurance policy with an SR-22 requirement can start around $1500 per year, but this number increases based on the severity of the law you broke. The best thing you can do is shop for insurance quotes. The recommendation is to get at least three quotes before purchasing your policy. Some companies will match or beat a quote from a competitor, so it never hurts to ask. At Just Auto Insurance, we’ve been delivering the lowest possible SR-22 insurance quotes for more than 15 years. Give us a call today to save hundreds — even thousands — on your auto insurance.

How Long Will I Need an SR-22 on File?

The length of time you will need to have an SR-22 certificate on file depends on many factors. However, the typical time limit averages three years. Of course, the more severe your punishment, the longer you will need to carry the SR-22. But, you must know that if part of your punishment included revoking your driver’s license, the SR-22 requirement doesn’t begin until after your revocation period is over. So, if you lost your license for six months, your SR-22 certification doesn’t start until after the six months are over.

What if I Don’t Own a Car?

If you don’t own a car, you still need to fulfill the SR-22 requirement before the state reissues your driver’s license. To meet this requirement, you will need to purchase a non-owner auto insurance policy with SR-22 certification. A non-owner policy covers the liability insurance you need to operate a vehicle. This policy will not cover damages to the car you are driving. It only covers any liability you incur while driving someone else’s car. Do you still have questions? Get in touch with us at Just Auto Insurance today.

Get a Quote for SR-22 Insurance Today

Other conditions could affect the legal requirements and costs, so it is best to talk directly to an insurance agent to get the full picture of what you need. At Just Auto Insurance, our agents are eager to help you get the auto insurance coverage you need at the lowest price possible. Contact us today to get the process started.

Call Now ButtonCall Now!